Piazza di Pellicceria 1, 16123 Genova (Genova, Liguria)
Among the many 16th-century mansions that have survived in the historic center of Genoa, Palazzo Spinola di Pellicceria is the only one that is now a museum.
Its exhibition rooms communicate the aristocratic atmosphere of the Genoese Republic's "Golden Age" - from the 16th to the early 17th century - contrasting with the vibrant narrow streets around, still in a medieval mood.
The palazzo was built in the late 16th century on a commission by Francesco Grimaldi. It then passed into the hands of the Pallavicinis, who invested in new works by local and international artists. The Quadreria, or Collection of Paintings, still includes works by Anton van Dyck, Joos van Cleve, Valerio Castello, Grechetto, Luca Giordano, Bernardo Strozzi, Giulio Cesare Procaccini, Pieter Paul Rubens, Antonello da Messina, Filippo Parodi, Orazio Gentileschi, and Gregorio de Ferrari.
In 1734 the palazzo was inherited by Maddalena Doria, the wife of Niccolò Spinola - hence the current name of the building - who renovated the décor and layout. The marvellous Galleria degli Specchi provides an example.
In 1958, Marquisses Francesco and Paolo Spinola donated the palazzo to the Italian State along with its furnishings and art collections, "in order to pass on a sample of noble Genoese residence."
If you plan to visit, please check on the House Museum's website.
In-depth information on this House Museum can be found in House museums in Italy. New cultural itineraries: poetry, history, art, architecture, music, arts & crafts, tastes and traditions, a guide-book by Rosanna Pavoni, which can be purchased on line.